Facebook is increasingly viewed in a negative light from a privacy perspective. This has led to growing concerns from users over what their data is being used for, and even if the social media giant takes more data than they claim to altogether.

If you’re reading this then it’s obvious that you’re considering deleting your Facebook account and that you’d like to ensure that all of your personal data is deleted with it. There is one simple way to do this, although there are also ways that you can deactivate your account temporarily and keep your data.

In this post, we’ll go over how you can delete your Facebook account, as well as how you might temporarily disable it without wiping all of your data. This might be a more effective way of going about the process.

Why delete your Facebook account?

Before deleting your account, it’s important to think about why you’re doing it. Is this just so that you can take a break and stop using social media so much? Or is it more because you’re concerned about the company having your private data? Depending on which reason you have for deleting your Facebook account, you might want to consider a different approach to shutting the thing down.

Overusing social media: If your reason for deleting your account is that you’re using social media too much, then we recommend that you disable your account temporarily before you delete it. By temporarily disabling your Facebook account, you can take a break and then come back at any time to revive your account and recover all of your data.

This is a more ‘fail-safe’ way of stopping using Facebook and it can easily be overturned. This means that you can experience life without the app and all you have to do to get back onto the platform is sign into your account again.

This might be a little too easy for some people to resist, so in some cases you might just want to delete your account altogether.

Protect your privacy: Facebook and privacy are two words that don’t really sit too well together. The social media giant makes its money from advertising and data hording. That’s just the way it is. When there’s nothing to buy, then you are the product.

If you’re not comfortable with Facebook having its hands on your personal data, then it might be time to consider deleting your account altogether. By doing this, you can make sure that all of your personal data is deleted from Facebook and that the company will no longer have anything on you.

Deleting your account is permanent, you cannot undo it. This means that if you’ve tried deactivating your account but keep going back onto it, then this may be a more effective way to cut down your usage once and for all. Do consider, however, that the move cannot be undone.

How to delete you Facebook account

Okay, now you’ve made your mind up about what it is that you want to do – so let’s go over how you’d go about deleting your Facebook account.

Temporarily

In order to temporarily disable your Facebook account, open the app on your smartphone and press the three lines in the top right hand corner. Then, open the Settings & Privacy drop-down menu. Choose Settings, then Personal Information, and finally, Manage Account.

From here, you can press Deactivate. You’ll then be prompted to enter your password, do so. From here, simply agree that you do in fact want to deactivate your account. Viola!

Using web browser version of Facebook

If you’re using your browser, then you can deactivate Facebook by pressing the little arrow button in the top right corner of any Facebook page. The go to Settings and click Your Facebook Information. From here, choose Deactivation & Deletion.

Now you can choose whether to either deactivate or permanently delete your Facebook page. Simply choose an option, enter your password, and follow the steps on screen. Note that this is the same process for deactivating and permanently deleting your Facebook account via a web browser.

Permanently deleting your Facebook account

To permanently delete your Facebook account, simply open the Facebook app on Android or iOS and press the three line button in the top right hand corner of the display. Then scroll down to Settings & Privacy and choose Settings. From here, go to Account Ownership and Control and choose Deactivation and deletion.

Similarly to the desktop version of deleting Facebook, you can choose between whether to deactivate or delete your account. Simply choose an option, then enter your password and follow the steps on screen. Your account will be deleted permanently if you choose the delete option. No more Facebook.

Save a copy of your data

If you’re going to delete Facebook, then you might want to save a copy of your data first. This means that you can keep all the photos that you’ve uploaded, stories and posts that you’ve shared, all the people you connected with, your comments, likes and reactions, and all your messages.

This information will be sent to you and is completely exclusive and private to you. If you’re going to delete your account, then it could be useful to have a copy of this information for future reference. You can choose which categories of information you want to keep. For example, you might just want to keep your photos and stories, while doing away with all the silly comment arguments that you’ve engaged in over the years.

You don’t have to delete your account to get a copy of your data – you can do this at any time to be able to see all the activity that you’ve ever done on the social media platform. After all, the data is ultimately yours. So you should be able to see it in its entirety.

The wrap-up

As you can see, deleting your Facebook account is very easy and straightforward. For most people, a simple deactivation will probably suffice, but for some, account deletion may be the way forward. Follow our simple guides to both actions and take back control of your privacy and free time. Enjoy.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here